Writer’s BLOCK is a MYTH. Your Inner Critic is BULLsh!T

Driving back from a weekend of working with Katrina Brown in The He Said She Said Comedy Show, I thought a lot about the amount of material we’re generating. I don’t believe in writer’s block. Writer’s block is a myth. Apologies to all those who THINK they are “suffering” from writer’s block. I contend what you may be suffering from is too much self-doubt and internal criticism.

Those voices in the back of your head that are telling you that you’re not good enough… those are the biggest bullshit there is.

There is no such thing as WRITER’s BLOCK, unless you can’t remember anything. AS long as you can remember, you just put pen to paper and write what you remember. I try to journal EVERY DAY for at least 10 minutes (usually longer) just completely free associating. It’s a great way to generate ideas for material, articles, or anything to write about.

It doesn’t have to be great. You don’t have to be brilliant every second of every day. Most of what I write is complete garbage. But that’s what it takes to get the good stuff. Quantity breeds quality. Make it a tried and true discipline to sit down every day and just write, regardless of how it turns out. You can always edit later.

Don’t fear the blank page. In fact, it’s a lot easier if you don’t even have a blank page to begin with. Just keep an ongoing list of topics that you can continually expand on. It may get a little repetitive, but so what? The idea is to keep your flow and momentum by creating something or writing something every day.

I improvise every show. Is it always good? No, but I still do it. I do these video blogs as much as I can. Are they always good. Hell, no! But I do them anyway. It’s another trick I use to generate material ideas and topics to write about. I used to yap into an audio recorder and later turn those ramblings into material.

I like accountability. A big reason why I’m doing these video blogs is the accountability of being attached to a YouTube channel and committed to creating content regularly. It forces me to stay disciplined and sharp. Later on, I can watch and extract material. It’s not always easy and it’s not always good, but I still do it.

You just have to show up every single day and battle that resistance. There’s a book called The War of Art and that’s what they call that inner-voice that tries to convince you have ‘WRITER’s BLOCK”. It’s called “Resistance.” You have to battle RESISTANCE every day. The self-judgement and criticism is just a bunch of bullshit in the back of your head trying to keep you from getting the job done. THAT’s what WRITER”S BLOCK is…

You’re not suffering from writer’s block. You just need to overcome RESISTANCE.

I’m really looking forward to 2017. I expect some good things to happen. And I just want to share the experience with you guys.

Posted on January 26, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

